Edinburg CISD Names Former Board Member As New Athletic Director

By Arnoldo Mata

Edinburg, Texas, Dec. 15, 2023 —Oscar Salinas, a former Edinburg CISD Board member and current head coach and athletic director at La Feria High School, was named as the new ECISD as the incoming Athletic Director.

Salinas was elected to the ECISD Board of Trustees Place 2 seat in 2014. He was re-elected in 2018. In 2022, he lost the seat in the November 8, 2022 election.

Boasting over 30 years of coaching experience, Salinas has served as the Athletic Director and Head Football Coach at La Feria High School since 2011.

A hometown alumnus, Salinas graduated from Edinburg High School and the University of Texas Pan American. Before his tenure at La Feria, he contributed significantly to Edinburg CISD, serving as the Athletic Coordinator and Head Coach for Johnny Economedes High School from 2000 to 2011.

During a special board meeting on Thursday, December 14, Superintendent Dr. Mario Salinas shared insights into the meticulous selection process. The district received a noteworthy 29 applications from candidates statewide and nationally. Dr. Salinas explained, “We interviewed over 20 applicants who are currently working as Athletic Directors or have experience as Athletic Directors, and based on their track record of success in the field, the committee chose Oscar Salinas.”

The interviews were done by a school district committee. The vote to approve Salinas as athletic director was 6-0 as Board Trustee Leticia “Letty” Garcia was not present at the meeting.

The announcement ensures a smooth transition for the new Athletic Director. Dr. Salinas emphasized the significance of the role, stating, “This is an important job, and it impacts a lot of students and athletic programs in the District, so we wanted to make the decision in a timely manner.”

Oscar Salinas, eager to take on the responsibilities, expressed his enthusiasm for the role. The change in leadership will see him succeed Roy Garza, the current Edinburg CISD Athletic Director, who is set to retire at the end of January 2024.